CU student looking for caretakers

Hi Buffs! I’m Jake Levin. I’m looking for personal aides for my sophomore year. I have muscular dystrophy and will be living in Hallett Hall studying journalism. I use a wheelchair 100% of the time. I have a care team of caregivers that assists with all of the things I need in order to be successful for college life. We are looking to expand our care team for this semester as well as next spring semester, but this can be a year-round position if you desire.

Job details

Job title: Personal aide
Job description: Assist Jake (me) with daily tasks. Tasks include:

  • Bathroom use
  • Showering
  • Dressing
  • Attend meals with Jake
  • Retrieving things Jake might need

A more detailed list of tasks can be provided to those interested. Please note, muscular dystrophy is a degenerative disease, so the needs are subject to change over time.


Average daytime shift is 2–3 hours. We are able to work with your class schedule as well!

  • Morning shifts: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
  • Afternoon shifts: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday
  • Evening shifts: Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday

Average overnight shift is 6–7 hours. You can sleep during these. Jake has a large dorm room with two separate rooms divided by a door, each having its own bed and desk. He also has a large private bathroom.

  • Overnight shifts: Monday, Tuesday, Saturday, Sunday


Between $16–$18 per hour depending on the shift worked. Overnight shifts are always $18/hour.

No experience necessary! We will provide you with training.

If you are interested in this position, please reach out to ASAP.